SR-22 Insurance Quote Forms
Looking for coverage? Click any of the following links to submit a quote for quick, accurate and affordable rates.
SR-22 Insurance Information
Instantly Quote & Bind Now
Insurance Penalties: SR-22 and FR-44
In Florida, you may be required to purchase additional car insurance if you’ve been in a car accident or you’ve had certain traffic violation convictions.
If you ever get a speeding ticket, DUI or commit other serious driving infractions, then you might be required to get an SR-22 or FR-44 certificate.
Rules and names differ by state, but an SR-22 is a certificate of financial responsibility required for some drivers by their state or court order. An FR-44 is similar to an SR-22 form in that it proves that a driver is carrying active liability insurance that meets or exceeds state minimum coverage requirements
Basically, they prove that the driver carries the required minimum auto insurance as set by state law. It's important to realize that these are not the same as the auto insurance cards that most drivers have to keep with them.
SR-22 in Florida
Certain incidents or violations may require you to carry an SR-22 certification, which mandates that you purchase bodily injury liability, or BIL, car insurance on top of the basic Florida car insurance requirements.
You will have to carry an SR-22 for 3 years IF:
- You are involved in a car accident that causes injuries or property damage.
- You have had your driver’s license suspended due to excessive traffic violation points.
- Your driver’s license has been habitually revoked.
If you are found guilty of driving without car insurance, you may have to carry a 6-month non-cancelable SR-22 for up to 2 years. A 6-month non-cancelable SR-22 requires you to pay your entire premium up front each time you renew your policy.
FR-44 in Florida
If you are convicted of a DUI in Florida, you may be required to purchase additional insurance and file an FR-44 form as proof of that coverage. FR-44 certificates are required when a driver has been convicted of a DUI and did not hold the following amounts of coverage for bodily injury liability and property damage liability insurance on the date of the arrest:
- $100,000 for injuries to any one person (BIL).
- $300,000 for injuries to all people in one accident (BIL).
- $50,000 for property damage liability (PDL).
If you are subject to the FR-44 requirement, you will need to add BIL and PDL coverage to your policy, with the minimum shown above. You must have your FR-44 for at least 3 years from the date of suspension.
When is FR-44 or SR-22 Insurance Required?
Drivers are usually required to get FR-44 or SR-22 insurance if they are convicted of a major traffic violation. Qualifying accidents might include:
Therefore, you will only face a SR-22/FR-44 requirement if you get caught committing a serious driving infraction.
How to Get an SR-22 or FR-44 Document Filed With the State
The rules that govern mandated auto insurance are called financial responsibility laws. Thus, both of these forms are called certificates of financial responsibility (commonly referred to as CFRs).
In most states, applicants will have to pay a filing fee. This fee is in addition to car insurance premiums and is about $25, but it may be higher in some places.
These certificates must be requested from The Insurance Store USA. In turn, we will file the necessary documents with the state. If FR-44 or SR-22 insurance lapses before the state lifts the requirement, we will also be required to notify the state about the lapse. This could result in serious penalties from the state, which is why it is important that you never let your policy lapse under any circumstances.